Were You Involved in a South Carolina Drunk Driving Accident?
Our David W. Martin Accident & Injury Lawyers in Rock Hill and Fort Mill know that a traffic collision occurs every 4.3 minutes in South Carolina, according to the state’s annual Fact Book. We also know that most times, a crash is more than an accident. When someone gets behind the wheel after having too much to drink, it is no accident. It is negligence.
Tragically, on average, one person is killed in a DUI collision every 27.9 hours across South Carolina.
Our York County personal injury attorneys know that drunk driving is unfortunately common throughout the Palmetto State, as nearly 22,000 DUI arrests were made here last year, according to South Carolina law enforcement. When these drivers cause crashes, injuries, and fatalities, they must be held accountable by more than the South Carolina penal system.
Their victims deserve justice too. We can help. If you have been hurt or lost a loved one in an accident caused by a drunk driver in South Carolina, our personal injury lawyers want to help you hold him or her accountable for their negligence, starting with a consultation.
When is a Driver Legally Intoxicated in South Carolina?
According to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety, South Carolina law prohibits a person from driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol to the extent that the person’s faculties to drive are materially and appreciably impaired.
If you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher, it will be inferred that you were driving under the influence. If you have a BAC that is at least .05%, but less than .08%, your BAC level may be considered along with other evidence to infer that you are under the influence.
How Can I Prove the South Carolina Driver Who Hit Me Was Impaired?
If you have been involved in any type of traffic collision in South Carolina — whether you were a pedestrian, bicyclist, on a motorcycle, or driving or riding in another vehicle — call the police right away and wait for law enforcement to arrive at the scene, if your injuries allow.
Chances are you may not know the other driver is intoxicated until you see erratic behavior or after you begin communicating with him or her, but witnesses may have identified the impaired driver’s reckless behavior before the crash occurred, too.
Common signs that a driver is impaired include:
- Failing to turn on headlights at night.
- Driving in the middle of the road, or with the left tires on the centerline.
- Illegal or sudden turns.
- Nearly striking other vehicles, people, or objects.
- Drifting, swerving, or weaving in traffic.
- Sudden stops and/or rapid acceleration.
- Driving much slower or faster than the posted speed limit.
- Turning using an unusually wide radius.
- Drinking alcohol in the vehicle.
- Driving with the face close to the windshield.
If you can stay behind at the scene of the crash, tell the police your suspicions about the other driver’s condition. If he or she is suspected of driving under the influence, the police will make an arrest. Law enforcement can initiate a field sobriety test, give the driver a breathalyzer, or demand he or she submit to a blood test at a local hospital to prove those suspicions.
This will be important evidence during your personal injury claim, as it allows our skilled attorneys to cite direct negligence as the cause of your crash and injuries.
Next, seek medical care right away, and contact our dedicated drunk driving accident and injury lawyers in Rock Hill and Fort Mill today for help building your case.
Contact Our David W. Martin Accident & Injury Lawyers in South Carolina to Schedule a consultation Today
Contact our David W. Martin Accident & Injury Lawyers in South Carolina today by calling 803-258-6199 to learn more about your legal rights and options to hold the negligent driver liable for your complete recovery needs.
We provide consultations for all personal injury cases in South Carolina, and never charge any legal fees unless we deliver a positive outcome for your unique case.