Our David W. Martin Accident & Injury Lawyers in South Carolina know that no one leaves their home, work, or even a restaurant and expects to be hurt in a vehicle collision. The reality is, according to the South Carolina Traffic Collision Fact Book, there is one traffic collision every 4.3 minutes throughout the state, which accounted for 121,235 total crashes last year.
What may be more surprising than being hurt in an accident is getting injured in a crash, only to look up and see the driver has left the scene. Unfortunately, it happens more often than you think. South Carolina recorded 3,514 hit-and-run accidents last year.
If you have been hurt in a crash with a hit-and-run driver, you still have recovery options that do not involve you paying for your expenses out of pocket. Here is what our fellow South Carolinians need to know.
South Carolina Law Requires ALL Drivers to Carry Uninsured Motorist Coverage
South Carolina law requires drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage that protects the policyholder if injured or an uninsured or hit-and-run driver damages their property.
South Carolina law requires the following minimum coverage limits for uninsured motorist coverage:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
- $25,000 per accident for property damage.
South Carolina law also requires liability coverage equal to the minimum uninsured motorist coverage.
Here is the difference between those coverages:
- Bodily injury liability insurance protects you against the claims of other people injured in an accident for which you were at fault. South Carolina requires you to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person for bodily injury and $50,000 for all persons injured in one accident. Claims for bodily injury may include medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
- Uninsured motorist coverage protects the policyholder directly. This coverage pays if you are injured and a hit-and-run driver or an uninsured driver damages your property. South Carolina law requires you to carry uninsured motorists coverage equal to the minimum liability coverage (25/50/25).
- Underinsured motorists coverage is similar to uninsured motorist coverage but pays for your injuries or property damage if the at-fault driver does not have enough insurance to cover your damages or medical bills. Auto insurers are required to offer you underinsured motorists coverage in South Carolina, but you are not required to purchase it.
If you have been hurt in a crash caused by a hit-and-run driver, our South Carolina personal injury lawyers will pursue your insurance coverage for your complete damages, just as we would the at-fault driver’s policy if they stayed behind.
Partnering with a skilled car accident attorney removes you from the equation. It allows us to negotiate your damages directly with the insurance company so you can focus on getting your physical and emotional well-being back on track.
Contact Our Skilled South Carolina Car Accident Attorneys to Ensure Your Rights Are Protected from the Start of Your Claim
If you have been injured in a vehicle collision caused by a hit-and-run driver in South Carolina, contact our David W. Martin Accident & Injury Lawyers today by calling 803-258-6199 to learn more about your legal rights and options to pursue your complete recovery needs.
We provide consultations for all personal injury cases in South Carolina and never charge any legal fees unless we deliver a positive outcome for your unique case.